Opportunity brief
Closing date not statedQEII Memorial Programme – Bridge Contractor
Contracting authority: Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS) Procurement title: QEII Memorial – Bridge Contractor Procurement identifier: 105266 Notice type: UK2 – Preliminary Market Engagement Notice Estimated contract value (excluding VAT): £11,500,000 - £13,000,000 Contract location: London, Inner London West, Westminster and City of London CPV codes: 45221113 – Footbridge construction work 45221115, 45223000, 45223210, 45223100, 45223110, 45341000, 45432112, 71322300, 45340000, 45000000 Expected tender notice publication: January 2027 Market engagement closing date: 31 December 2026 Procurement contact / portal: DCMS procurement portal Description of the requirement The Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS) is undertaking preliminary market engagement in connection with the proposed procurement of a Bridge Contractor to supply works in respect of the Queen Elizabeth II Memorial programme. The proposed appointment will involve the specialist design validation, prototype development, fabrication, construction and installation of a bespoke pedestrian bridge forming part of a nationally significant memorial project in central London. The Bridge Contractor will be required to work closely and collaboratively with Foster + Partners, the appointed lead designer, and the wider design team to support technical design development and validation, prototype testing, fabrication detailing and the successful delivery of the bridge in accordance with the agreed design intent. The proposed scope comprises the complete integrated bridge package, including: structural stainless steel fabrication and associated components; specialist glass balustrades, including their supporting and fixing arrangements; incorporated paving, finishes and associated interfaces; structural and fabrication design validation; prototype manufacture, testing and technical refinement; detailed 3D and fabrication modelling; fabrication, assembly, transportation, lifting and installation; and associated temporary works, quality assurance and specialist supply-chain coordination. The works will be delivered within a sensitive public realm environment and will require particular attention to architectural quality, specialist craftsmanship, technical assurance, construction logistics, programme coordination and stakeholder interfaces. DCMS is seeking feedback from contractors capable of taking responsibility for the complete integrated bridge package, either through their own specialist capabilities or through appropriately managed specialist subcontractors. Indicative timescales The current indicative programme anticipates award of the Stage 1 Pre-Construction Services Agreement (PCSA) in May 2027 and the Stage 2 main fabrication and installation contract in February 2028. These dates are estimates and remain subject to procurement outcomes, programme development and DCMS approvals. The anticipated duration and completion date of the Stage 2 works will be determined during Stage 1 or as part of the formation of the Stage 2 contract. Proposed Procurement and Delivery Approach DCMS is considering a two-stage appointment for the specialist Bridge Contractor, with an initial Pre-Construction Services Agreement (PCSA) to support prototype development, testing, technical design validation and refinement, followed by a separate commitment to the principal fabrication and installation works. DCMS is considering a competitive flexible procedure under the Procurement Act 2023, with an open initial tender stage to encourage participation from the specialist market. The Bridge Contractor is expected to be appointed initially by DCMS, with the intention of subsequent novation of that contract to the Principal/Main Contractor, subject to agreed contractual arrangements and approvals. The proposed approach remains subject to market engagement, further consideration and DCMS governance approvals.
- Engineering & Infrastructure
- Public sector
- United Kingdom

- Buyer / issuer
- Department for Culture, Media and Sport
- Sector
- Engineering & Infrastructure
- Country / region
- United Kingdom
- Public or private
- Public sector
- Closing date
- Not stated
- Closing date not stated
- Estimated value
- £12m
- GBP
- Submission method
- Via the buyer's portal, linked from Find a Tender
- Tender number
- 105266
- Status
- Active
Scope summary
Contracting authority: Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS) Procurement title: QEII Memorial – Bridge Contractor Procurement identifier: 105266 Notice type: UK2 – Preliminary Market Engagement Notice Estimated contract value (excluding VAT): £11,500,000 - £13,000,000 Contract location: London, Inner London West, Westminster and City of London CPV codes: 45221113 – Footbridge construction work 45221115, 45223000, 45223210, 45223100, 45223110, 45341000, 45432112, 71322300, 45340000, 45000000 Expected tender notice publication: January 2027 Market engagement closing date: 31 December 2026 Procurement contact / portal: DCMS procurement portal Description of the requirement The Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS) is undertaking preliminary market engagement in connection with the proposed procurement of a Bridge Contractor to supply works in respect of the Queen Elizabeth II Memorial programme. The proposed appointment will involve the specialist design validation, prototype development, fabrication, construction and installation of a bespoke pedestrian bridge forming part of a nationally significant memorial project in central London. The Bridge Contractor will be required to work closely and collaboratively with Foster + Partners, the appointed lead designer, and the wider design team to support technical design development and validation, prototype testing, fabrication detailing and the successful delivery of the bridge in accordance with the agreed design intent. The proposed scope comprises the complete integrated bridge package, including: structural stainless steel fabrication and associated components; specialist glass balustrades, including their supporting and fixing arrangements; incorporated paving, finishes and associated interfaces; structural and fabrication design validation; prototype manufacture, testing and technical refinement; detailed 3D and fabrication modelling; fabrication, assembly, transportation, lifting and installation; and associated temporary works, quality assurance and specialist supply-chain coordination. The works will be delivered within a sensitive public realm environment and will require particular attention to architectural quality, specialist craftsmanship, technical assurance, construction logistics, programme coordination and stakeholder interfaces. DCMS is seeking feedback from contractors capable of taking responsibility for the complete integrated bridge package, either through their own specialist capabilities or through appropriately managed specialist subcontractors. Indicative timescales The current indicative programme anticipates award of the Stage 1 Pre-Construction Services Agreement (PCSA) in May 2027 and the Stage 2 main fabrication and installation contract in February 2028. These dates are estimates and remain subject to procurement outcomes, programme development and DCMS approvals. The anticipated duration and completion date of the Stage 2 works will be determined during Stage 1 or as part of the formation of the Stage 2 contract. Proposed Procurement and Delivery Approach DCMS is considering a two-stage appointment for the specialist Bridge Contractor, with an initial Pre-Construction Services Agreement (PCSA) to support prototype development, testing, technical design validation and refinement, followed by a separate commitment to the principal fabrication and installation works. DCMS is considering a competitive flexible procedure under the Procurement Act 2023, with an open initial tender stage to encourage participation from the specialist market. The Bridge Contractor is expected to be appointed initially by DCMS, with the intention of subsequent novation of that contract to the Principal/Main Contractor, subject to agreed contractual arrangements and approvals. The proposed approach remains subject to market engagement, further consideration and DCMS governance approvals.
Category: works
Key requirements
- Procurement method: See the tender documents
- Briefing session: Not captured. Check the original notice before relying on this.
- Eligibility and evaluation: set out in the tender documents. Check mandatory returnables, registrations and scoring before you commit.
Required documents
The tender pack is published with the original notice. Use “Download Tender Pack” to open it.
Important dates
- Published
- 20 Oct 2026
- First seen by Atlas
- 21 Oct 2026
- Briefing session
- Not captured. Check the original notice before relying on this.
- Submission deadline
- Not stated
Commercial snapshot
- Estimated value
- £12m
- Contract type
- See the tender documents
- Category
- works
- Source
- UK Find a Tender
How ABM can help
- Manage the Bid: A structured response, from the opportunity decision to the final submission.
- Develop the Response: Clear writing, considered production and approved material ready for reuse.
- Build Bid Capability: Practical support that strengthens how your business prepares and responds.
Live data from Atlas Tender Intelligence, gathered from official procurement portals and refreshed daily. Always confirm details on the original notice.
Related opportunities
View all in United Kingdom| Tender / opportunity | Issuer / buyer | Region | Closing date | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NRW/30295 Norfolk Economic Study Ref NRW/30295 | Norwich City Council | United Kingdom | 14 Nov 2026 Closes in 7 days | View brief |
| Norfolk Strategic Flood Risk Assessment Ref ocds-h6vhtk-078340 | Norwich City Council | United Kingdom | 14 Nov 2026 Closes in 7 days | View brief |
| ITT - Recruitment Applicant Tracking System - UID 390M Ref PREF 00000639 | Historic England | United Kingdom | 14 Nov 2026 Closes in 7 days | View brief |
- Closes in 7 dayspublic
NRW/30295 Norfolk Economic Study
Norwich City Council
United KingdomCloses 14 Nov 2026£95k - Closes in 7 dayspublic
Norfolk Strategic Flood Risk Assessment
Norwich City Council
United KingdomCloses 14 Nov 2026£35k - Closes in 7 dayspublic
ITT - Recruitment Applicant Tracking System - UID 390M
Historic England
United KingdomCloses 14 Nov 2026£140k